The Reckless Love of God

“When I use the phrase, ‘the reckless love of God’, I’m not saying that God Himself is reckless. He’s not crazy. I am, however, saying that the way He loves, is in many regards, quite so. What I mean is this: He is utterly unconcerned with the consequences of His actions with regard to His own safety, comfort, and well-being. His love isn’t crafty or slick. It’s not cunning or shrewd. In fact, all things considered, it’s quite childlike, and might I even suggest, sometimes downright ridiculous. His love bankrupted heaven for you; for me. His love doesn’t consider Himself first. His love isn’t selfish or self-serving. He doesn’t wonder what He’ll gain or lose by putting Himself on the line. He simply puts Himself out there, on the off-chance that you and I might look back at Him and give Him that love in return. His love leaves the ninety-nine to find the one every single time.

“To many practical adults, that is a foolish concept. What if He loses the ninety-nine in finding the one? But finding that one lost sheep is and will always be supremely important.

“His love isn’t cautious. It’s a love that sends His own Son to die a gruesome death on the cross. There’s no plan B with the love of God. He gives His heart so completely, so preposterously, that if refused, we will think it irreparably broken. Yet He gives Himself away again and again, time and time again. 

“Make no mistake, our sins do pain His heart. Seventy times seven is a lot of times to get your heart broken. Yet, He opens up and allows us back into His heart every single time. 

“His love saw us when we hated Him, and when all logic said we will reject Him, He said, ‘I don’t care what it costs me. I will lay my life on the line as long as I get their hearts.’” 

– Cory Asbury, on the Reckless Love of God

Leave a comment